Frank Cho’s “humor” Seems Very Familiar

I had to see what everyone was so angry about regarding Frank Cho’s “joke” cover for SpiderGwen/Spiderman/Harley Quinn\whatever.

image

A lot of people are angry, but I cant really say I’m offended…..or surprised. Frank Cho’s humor in these covers are pretty reminiscent of what he did in his early comic series Liberty Meadows.

image

I hate being critical towards one of the artists that influenced me, but what I really enjoyed about Cho’s first official series was his stylistic combination of classic-style characters interacting with cartoony  animals in the vein of “Bone”. Now that he works for Marvel, from my perspective, all of his stylistic interpretations of (mostly) female characters look like rehashings of his Liberty Meadows regulars Brandy and Jen. As I looked at the covers in question, I couldn’t help but notice how much of a resemblance Gwen bore to Jen (seen “tormenting” Dean the Pig in the above image.)

I can’t read his mind, but perhaps he was trying to inject that old “Liberty Meadows” humor in his current line of work……only for it to backfire. When I first met him at a panel at HeroesCon 2013, a discussion was held on the risks of exhibiting such humor to the uninitiated. Superhero comics seem to have no place for underground shock humor……..except Deadpool, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

